Thursday, October 2, 2008

Brooklyn Politics: Who are Brooklyn's U.S. Congress Members? (2008)

A number of the Optimist's readers have reached out to him over the past year asking for a complete list of Brooklyn's elected officials. This is a very good question! As easy as it would seem in the age of the internet to get this kind of basic information, it's actually a lot more difficult than you might think.

So, as a public service to my fellow Brooklynites, I present the following series of posts to make it transparent and easy to track down the names of all your Members of Congress, State Senators, Assembly Members, Council Members, and even the District Leaders for the Democratic Party.

To make the list as helpful as possible, I've linked each name to the elected officials' homepage, except for in the case of the District Leaders, who generally don't have a website. If you want to reach your District Leaders and can't find their number, leave a comment on this page or send me an email at and I'll make sure to get you their contact information.

If you don't know in what district you live, you can find out everything you need to know by entering your address into the New York City Board of Elections' website right here.

So, here they are, your Members of Congress:


8th CD: Jerry Nadler (also represents Manhattan)
9th CD: Anthony Weiner (also represents Queens)
10th CD: Edolphus Towns
11th CD: Yvette Clarke
12th CD: Nydia Velázquez (also represents Queens and Manhattan)
13th CD: Vito Fossella (also represents Staten Island - NOTE: Fossella is not seeking re-election because of a host of scandals that have been widely reported by the national news. All political experts would agree that his likely successor following November's general election will be Democratic nominee Mike McMahon.)

No comments: